- Municipal Court
- Defensive Driving
Defensive Driving Course Eligibility & Requirements
The Municipal Court requires the following from you before you are entitled to take a State approved Defensive Driving Course:
- You must have a valid Texas Driver's license or permit, and proof of insurance; you may not posses a COMMERCIAL DRIVERS LICENSE (CDL) and take the course for dismissal purposes.
- You must enter a plea of guilty or no contest to the violation and request to take the course on or before your scheduled court date.
- You must pay a non-refundable fee set by the Court.
- You must file with the Court an affidavit stating that you are not in the process of taking and have not completed another Texas approved driving safety course within one year of the date of this ticket / citation.
- You are not eligible if you are charged with:
- Speeding 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit.
- Passing a school bus.
- Committing a serious traffic violation.
- Failing to stop and provide information or render aid after an accident.
- Committing an offense in a construction zone when workers are present.
- If you fail to yield to an emergency vehicle.
Time to Complete
You have 90 days to complete the safety course from the date of your citation and 30 additional days are allowed to present the Court proof of the completion of the course. You will need to submit proof either in person of by mail that you have complied with all of the requirements and met the deadline outlined in the Court's instructions. The items you must remit to the Court are as follows:
- Certificate of Completion (you must submit the "Court copy").
Failure to Meet Requirements
If you fail to comply with any of the requirements, you will have a conviction on your driving record and you will be required to pay the fine amount. Failure to pay this fine amount will result in a warrant of arrest being issued. If documents are not turned in timely to the Court then the Defendant will be required to appear at a Show Cause Hearing approximately 30 days after the due date.
A letter will be sent to the address on file of the defendant. Defensive Driving Courses are available locally but are not provided by the Court.
Defensive driving courses are available online. If you need further assistance please contact the Court Clerk at 903-586-7111.